The Ark-Tex Council of Governments (ATCOG) is a voluntary association of local governments established in 1968. We serve nine northeast Texas counties and one southwest Arkansas county. ATCOG is not a government agency. We have no authority to make laws, levy taxes, or exercise police powers. The ATCOG is one of 24 regional councils in Texas. These councils are members of the Texas Association of Regional Councils. ATCOG serves Region 5. Region 5 is made up of the following counties, covering over 6,400 square miles: Bowie, Cass, Delta, Franklin, Hopkins, Lamar, Morris, Red River and Titus Counties in Texas and Miller County in Arkansas. ATCOG consists of the following departments/programs: Executive, Administration, Finance, Information Technology (IT), Area Agency on Aging (AAA), Criminal Justice, Economic Development, Environmental, Housing, Transportation, and Public Safety (which operates both 9-1-1 and Homeland Security).

person holding baked bread on a saucer

What do we do?

Conduct Planning.
Assist local governments in implementing plans.
Contract with local, state, and federal governments and other public and private agencies.
Review and comment on applications of federal and state-grants-in-aid and solid waste permits.
Assist local governments in solving governmental problems.


The primary goal of ATCOG is to improve the quality of life for all citizens of the region on behalf of regional governmental organizations by providing a perspective on information and problem solving and by coordinating funding, resources, programs and services. It is our desire to be of service to you and we are delighted that you have visited our site. Please feel free to contact our offices regarding any particular program in which you have an interest.

Member Jurisdictions

We serve nine northeast Texas counties and one southwest Arkansas county.


Bowie County
Miller County
Cass County
Delta County
Franklin County
Hopkins County
Lamar County
Morris County
Red River County
Titus County


Miller County

The ATCOG is one of 24 regional councils in Texas.

Texas Regional Councils of Governments

Texas Regional Councils of Governments are voluntary associations of local governments formed under Texas law. These associations deal with the problems and planning needs that cross the boundaries of individual local governments or that require regional attention. Regional services offered by councils of governments are varied. Services are undertaken in cooperation with member governments, the private sector, and state and federal partners, and include but are not limited to the following:

Texas Regional Councils of Governments

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, ATCOG’s governing body, is a 16 member committee comprising of city and county elected officials. The Executive Committee provides direction to ATCOG on program implementation, budgets, contracts and general policies and procedures for managing the agency.

Executive Committee

Executive Director

The Executive Director directs the day-to-day operations of the agency and implements policy directives of the ATCOG Board of Directors. The Executive Director also assures that the policies are undertaken in an efficient and timely manner.

Executive Director

Financial and Audit Reports

The Finance Department handles internal and external services for all ATCOG programs in the following areas: accounting, budgeting, financial management and reporting, purchasing and payroll. Finance also provides certain support services as needed to implement programs in accordance with grant and contract agreements. ATCOG’s annual financial report and audit reports are available to the public.

Finance Department