Area Agency on Aging

AAA Logo


About The Program

The Older American’s Act of 1965, as revised in 1973, established state Area Agencies on Aging to assist in planning and developing programs specially designed for citizens 60 years of age and older and their spouses. In 1974, Ark-Tex Council of Governments (ATCOG) was designated as one of 28 Area Agencies on Aging funded by the Texas Department on Aging & Disabilities Services.

With additional monies from federal, state, local and private foundation sources, ATCOG and Area Agency on Aging provide approximately 50,000 residents in the Northeast Texas counties a range of quality services.

A 16-member Regional Advisory Council assists ATCOG in developing and reviewing local needs and programs with the cooperation of agencies in each county to maximize available services and resources for our area.

Mission Statement

To perform as a visible advocate and leader in the communities we serve in providing a comprehensive, coordinated continuum and access of services and assistance to the older population to live dignified, independent and productive lives in a safe environment. To enhance community and regional awareness of available services and to develop and promote a collaborative referral system with other area human service agencies to ensure quality and thorough assistance to our populace.

Services Offered

Family Caregiver Resource Center
Long Term Care Ombudsman
Benefits Counseling Program
Care Coordination Program
Caregiver Specialist Program
Additional Services